Cindy Bullens Steal The Night | 1979 Vinyl Album Review

Cindy Bullens Steal The Night | 1979 Vinyl Album Review

About Cindy Bullens – now Cidny Bullens

Navigating the ebbs and flows of the music industry, Cindy Bullens burst onto the American music scene in the late ’70s. Initially making waves as an outstanding backing vocalist, Bullens found himself touring alongside the iconic Elton John and even lending his vocal prowess to some of John’s renowned tracks. While these collaborations were commendable, it was as a soloist where Bullens truly shone.

1979 saw the release of Bullens’ inaugural album, “Desire Wire”. Critics and fans alike sang praises for the record, particularly spotlighting the standout single “Survivor”. His early compositions encapsulated the very essence of rock and roll, setting him on a pedestal within the musical community. As time progressed, so did his discography, each album painting a clearer picture of his artistic metamorphosis and eclectic musical taste.

By the 1990s, Bullens transitioned into a behind-the-scenes maestro, crafting songs for a diverse set of artists. His songwriting genius did not go unnoticed, earning him coveted Grammy nominations. Personal tribulations, including the heart-wrenching loss of his daughter, prompted Bullens to produce albums that resonated with deep personal undertones, “Somewhere Between Heaven and Earth” being a prime example.

In an era of profound self-discovery, Bullens unveiled his transgender identity, adopting the name Cidny Bullens. This personal odyssey was not just limited to his identity but reflected profoundly in his music, exploring facets of self, metamorphosis, and genuine existence.

Cindy or Cidny, irrespective of the name, Bullens has continually enthralled the world with visceral emotion, adept songwriting, and unparalleled musical flair. His journey is a testament to resilience, transformation, and pure, unadulterated talent that has engraved itself in the annals of music history.

Cindy Bullens – Steal The Night | Vinyl Album Review

Cindy Bullens Steal The Night | Front Cover | 1979 Vinyl Album Review

In the grand tapestry of the music world, Cindy Bullens seemed to be caught in a tumultuous dance with record labels. Landing a deal with Casablanca, she entered the scene just as the label teetered on the brink of implosion.

Undeterred by the chaos, Bullens took the reins for her album “Steal The Night”, sharing the production credits with the stellar lead guitarist, Mark Doyle. While she partnered with Doyle to pen the poignant “Too Close To Home”, the remaining nine tracks flowed solely from her creative wellspring.

There’s a distinct evolution in her sound. It’s as if her songs matured, or perhaps, they’ve been crafted in a way that accentuates their essence even more. With her vocals, Bullens delivers an arresting performance, complemented by her fiercely passionate guitar riffs. She embodies rock ‘n’ roll spirit, lacing her music with unfiltered attitude.

“Steal The Night” stands as a testament to Bullens’ tenacity and talent. Tragically, amidst the disarray of the record company’s dynamics, this masterful album didn’t receive the promotional backing it so richly deserved. As a result, a musical gem faded into obscurity, waiting for true aficionados, like the Vinyl Bro community, to rediscover and appreciate.

Cindy Bullens – Steal The Night Track List

Dive deep into a musical journey where every chord strummed and lyric sung resonates with pure emotion. From the pulsating beats of “Full Tilt Rocker” to the contemplative echoes of “Holding Me Crazy”, this collection is a testament to the sonic landscapes that can be painted when passion meets talent. Allow yourself to be transported to the world of rock and reverie with each track.

Cindy Bullens Steal The Night | Back Cover | 1979 Vinyl Album Review
  1. Full Tilt Rocker
  2. Real To Real
  3. Trust Me
  4. Hurry Up Forever
  5. Steal The Night Away
  6. Too Close To Home
  7. Powerless
  8. Raincheck On Romance
  9. Two-Track Mind
  10. Holding Me Crazy

As the final notes of “Holding Me Crazy” fade away, one can’t help but marvel at the sheer musical brilliance showcased throughout this track list. With every song, listeners have been taken on a rollercoaster of emotions, rhythms, and stories. It’s albums like these that remind us of the transformative power of music, leaving us eagerly awaiting the next note, the next lyric, the next chapter in this captivating musical tale.

Cindy Bullens – Steal The Night Album Review – Conclusion

From the very first note of “Full Tilt Rocker” to the closing chords of “Holding Me Crazy,” this album captures a rich tapestry of emotions, stories, and sonic landscapes. Each track tells its own tale, inviting listeners on a musical journey that showcases both raw power and delicate subtleties. The seamless blending of infectious rhythms with poignant lyrics paints a vivid picture of an artist deeply in touch with their craft. As we immerse ourselves in the world of vinyl, it’s albums like this that remind us of the profound connection between artist and audience, transcending time and space. Music has the remarkable ability to anchor us in a moment, spark forgotten memories, and even hint at the future. So, as the needle lifts and we anticipate the next play, let’s cherish the timeless magic of such records. In a world constantly evolving, it’s comforting to know that some things, like the allure of a great album, remain constant. Here’s to the next listen, the next memory, and the next chapter in our shared musical journey.

Similar Posts