Rabbit Mackay & The Somis Rhythm Band – Bug Cloth Album Review

About Rabbit Mackay & The Somis Rhythm Band

Rabbit Mackay & The Somis Rhythm Band was led by musician Rabbit Mackay from California. The band released an LP titled “Bug Cloth” in 1968 through MCA (Uni) Records, and another LP in 1969 before fading into obscurity​​. The band comprised members Bob Jones, Mike Berns, Mike De Temple, Rabbit Mackay, and Richard Adamson, with some variations in the name of the band like Rabbit MacKay & The Somis Rhythm Boyze, and Rabbit Mackay And The Somis Rythm Boyze among others​​.

Their music was categorized under the genres of Folk Rock and Psychedelic Folk, with albums including “Bug Cloth,” “Turds on a Bum Ride Vol. 1 & 2,” and “Turds on a Bum Ride Vol. 1″​​. A post on the Steve Hoffman Music Forums describes their album “Bug Cloth” as a significant amalgam of psych and garage genres, mentioning that it was strong, self-assured music, not just in songwriting but song craft as well. The vocals by The Somis Rhythm Band were particularly noted to be perfect for the songs on the album​​.

Rabbit Mackay & The Somis Rhythm Band – Bug Cloth Album Review

Rabbit Mackay & The Somis Rhythm Band - Bug Cloth | Front Cover | Vinyl Bro

Step into the eclectic realm of Mackay, Rabbit & The Somis Rhythm Band with their enthralling album, “Bug Cloth.” For the uninitiated, plunging into this auditory experience might feel like meandering through a diverse musical festival where each track feels like a distinct band showcasing their art. Such is the genre-defying nature of this masterpiece.

Far from being just another album in the vast sea of rock, “Bug Cloth” is a canvas painted with profound musical craftsmanship. It’s not merely about churning out tunes; it’s an exhibition of meticulous song construction. The standout feature? The vocals of The Somis Rhythm Band. These vocals don’t just complement the songs; they elevate them, infusing each track with a soulful resonance.

The album teems with brilliant keyboard sequences that weave seamlessly through the tracks. At moments, the album transports you to a tranquil countryside, its rustic ambiance echoing in harmonious melodies and heartfelt lyrics.

Rabbit Mackay’s advice encapsulates the essence of this record: “find a record player and a quiet place.” It’s not just a suggestion; it’s an invitation to truly immerse oneself in a musical journey. Take a moment, disconnect from the chaos of the world, and let “Bug Cloth” captivate your senses. At Vinyl Bro, we believe in the timeless allure of records that offer more than just songs – they offer experiences. “Bug Cloth” is one such evocative expedition that every vinyl enthusiast should embark on.

Rabbit Mackay & The Somis Rhythm Band – Bug Cloth Track List

Step into the kaleidoscopic world of Rabbit Mackay & The Somis Rhythm Band with their eclectic album, ‘Bug Cloth’. Each track is a testament to the band’s versatility and unmatched prowess, offering listeners a journey through varied sonic landscapes. From the rolling rhythms to evocative melodies, this tracklist encapsulates the essence of a time where experimentation met raw musical talent.

Rabbit Mackay & The Somis Rhythm Band - Bug Cloth | Back Cover | Vinyl Bro
  1. Big Sur Country
  2. Candy
  3. Lana Minus Life
  4. John’s Lament
  5. Hard Time Woman
  6. Mexico Town
  7. Baby Jennifer
  8. When Angel Comes
  9. West Grogan Dormitory Blues
  10. You Can Always Come To Me

As we reach the end of this sonic sojourn, one can’t help but marvel at the rich tapestry of sounds and narratives woven by Rabbit Mackay & The Somis Rhythm Band in ‘Bug Cloth’. Each track, unique in its approach, collectively tells a story of artistic brilliance. It’s albums like these that remind us of the transformative power of music and its ability to resonate across time and space. Dive in, rewind, and let the melodies take you on a journey once more.

Rabbit Mackay & The Somis Rhythm Band Bug Cloth Album Review – Conclusion

In the expansive realm of music, few bands manage to create an experience as distinct and immersive as Rabbit Mackay & The Somis Rhythm Band. Their album ‘Bug Cloth’ stands as a shining beacon of musical craftsmanship, blending elements that are both nostalgic and avant-garde. As we’ve journeyed through its tracks, it’s evident that this isn’t just an album, but a testament to the boundless creativity of its era. For any aficionado, novice, or curious soul, ‘Bug Cloth’ offers more than just tunes—it offers a passage through time, emotions, and artistry. At Vinyl Bro, we champion such timeless gems, and Rabbit Mackay & The Somis Rhythm Band serves as a poignant reminder of why we fell in love with vinyl in the first place.

Similar Posts